Florida Work Comp Law
The Florida work comp law prevents you from being fired by your employer if you have a work comp case such as carpal tunnel syndrome. However, there is no requirement in the law that says an employer has to hold open a job for you in the event your doctor has not released you to return to work.
Florida's workers comp law states that you must seek treatment for your carpal tunnel injury from a medical provider authorized by your employer or the insurance company. You should receive the appropriate medical care, treatments, and prescriptions related to your carpal tunnel case. You should not have to pay any work comp medical bills.
Under the work comp law in Florida you are not paid for the first 7 days of disability. However, if you lose time because your disability extends to over 21 days, you may be paid for the first 7 days by the insurance company.
Florida's workers comp law states that your benefit check which is paid bi-weekly will be 66 2/3 % of your average weekly wage, calculated using the wages earned 13 weeks prior to your injury.
You do not have to pay income tax on this money. However, if you go back to work on restrictions (i.e. Light Duty or Limited Duty) and are still under the care of the authorized doctor, you will pay taxes on any wages while working.
Lastly, if you are unable to return to the type of work you did before due to an injury like carpal tunnel, the Florida work comp law provides, at no cost to you, reemployment services to help you return to work. Things like vocational counseling, evaluating your skills and seeing if they are transferable, and on-the-job training just to name a few.
Hopefully, this article has answered your work comp carpal tunnel case questions.
For more info on
Florida work comp laws